View Full Version : Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds to release sprawling new best-of ‘Lovely Creatures’

DJ Rob in the Sanctuary Radio Newsroom
6th March 2017, 11:01 AM

             Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (http://www.nickcave.com) today announced a sprawling new best-of collection that’s “designed to be a way into three decades of music making” and which will be released in multiple formats: a standard 2CD set, a triple LP collection, a deluxe 3CD/1DVD version and a super-deluxe edition that adds a 256-page hardback book.
Due out May 5, Lovely Creatures – The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds 1984-2014 (http://www.nickcave.com/music/nickcaveandthebadseeds/lovely-creatures-best-nick-cave-bad-seeds/) was compiled by Cave and founding member Mick Harvey, with help from the current members of the Bad Seeds. Band members past and present “raided their personal archives” for photos and other memorabilia featured in the book, and provided essays, according to the band’s website (http://www.nickcave.com/music/nickcaveandthebadseeds/lovely-creatures-best-nick-cave-bad-seeds/).
The project originally was intended to be released in 2014, and, in the interim, the Bad Seeds recorded last year’s Skeleton Tree, which is not represented on the new best-of.
Says Cave of the project:

“There are some people out there who just don’t know where to start with The Bad Seeds. Others know the catalogue better than I do! This release is designed to be a way into three decades of music making. That’s a lot of songs. The songs we have chosen are the ones that have stuck around, for whatever reason. Some songs are those that demand to be played live. Others are lesser songs that are personal favourites of ours. Others are just too big and have too much history to leave out. And there are those that didn’t make it, poor things. They are the ones you must discover by yourselves.”
The editions are available to pre-order (https://shop-us.nickcave.com/) via Cave’s web store.
Below, you’ll find full tracklists for the various iterations of Lovely Creatures, and a trailer for the project.


Tracklist: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Lovely Creatures 2CD edition
1. “Loverman”
2. “Tupelo”
3. “Deanna”
4. “From Her To Eternity”
5. “The Weeping Song”
6. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!”
7. “People Ain’t No Good”
8. “Higgs Boson Blues”
9. “Straight To You”
10. “Where The Wild Roses Grow”
1. “Into My Arms”
2. “Love Letter”
3. “Red Right Hand”
4. “The Mercy Seat”
5. “O Children”
6. “The Ship Song”
7. “Stranger Than Kindness”
8. “Jubilee Street”
9. “Nature Boy”
10. “We No Who U R”
11. “Stagger Lee”

Tracklist: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Lovely Creatures 3LP edition
Side A
1. “Loverman”
2. “Tupelo”
3. “Deanna”
4.” From Her To Eternity”
Side B
1. “The Weeping Song”
2. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!”
3. “People Ain’t No Good”
Side C
1. “Higgs Boson Blues”
2. “Straight To You”
3. “Where The Wild Rose Grow”
Side D
1. “Into My Arms”
2. “Love Letter”
3. “Red Right Hand”
4. “The Mercy Seat”
Side E
1. “O Children”
2. “The Ship Song”
3. “Stranger Than Kindness”
Side F
1. “Jubilee Street”
2. “Nature Boy”
3. “We No Who U R”
4. “Stagger Lee”

Tracklist: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Lovely Creatures Deluxe 3CD/1DVD edition 
CD1: 1984-1993
1. “From Her To Eternity”
2. “In The Ghetto”
3. “Tupelo”
4. “I’m Gonna Kill That Woman”
5. “The Carny”
6. “Sad Waters”
7. “Stranger Than Kindness”
8. “Scum”
9. “The Mercy Seat”
10. “Deanna”
11. “Up Jumped The Devil”
12. “The Weeping Song”
13. “The Ship Song”
14. “Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry”
15. “Straight To You”
CD2: 1994–2003
1. “Do You Love Me?”
2. “Nobody’s Baby Now”
3. “Loverman”
4. “Red Right Hand”
5. “Stagger Lee”
6. “Where The Wild Roses Grow”
7. “Into My Arms”
8. “People Ain’t No Good”
9. “Brompton Oratory”
10. “(Are You) The One That I’ve Been Waiting For?”
11. “Come Into My Sleep”
12. “Love Letter”
13. “God Is In The House”
14. “He Wants You”
15. “Shoot Me Down”
CD3: 2004–2013
1. “Hiding All Away”
2. “There She Goes, My Beautiful World”
3. “Nature Boy”
4. “Breathless”
5. “Babe, You Turn Me On”
6. “O Children”
7. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!”
8. “Night Of The Lotus Eaters”
9. “We Call Upon The Author”
10. “Jesus Of The Moon”
11. “More News From Nowhere”
12. “We No Who U R”
13. “Jubilee Street”
14. “Higgs Boson Blues”
15. “Push The Sky Away”
Interview, 1988
Night Of The Lotus Eaters, 2008
Red Right Hand, 1998
The Weeping Song, 2001
Interview, 2013
Higgs Boson Blues, 2012
Interview, 1987
From Her To Eternity, 1984
Love Letter, 2001
Interview, 2013
Do You Love Me?, 2001
Interview, 2001
Into My Arms, 2008
We Call Upon The Author, 2009
Interview, 1991
The Mercy Seat, 1996
Interview, 1984
God Is In The House, 2001
Interview, 2013
Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!, 2008
Brompton Oratory, 1997
I’m Gonna Kill That Woman, 1986
Jubilee Street, 2013
The Ship Song, 1992
Interview, 1994
Loverman, 1996
Interview, 1988
In The Ghetto, 1984
Hiding All Away, 2004
Interview, 1992
Where The Wild Roses Grow, 1995
Deanna, 2008
O Children, 2013
Interview, 1996
Stagger Lee, 1996
Interview, 2014
Interview, 1985
Push The Sky Away, 2013
There She Goes, My Beautiful World, 2004


Video: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, ‘We No Who U R’ — first single off new album (http://www.slicingupeyeballs.com/2013/01/07/nick-cave-bad-seeds-we-no-who-u-r-video/)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds announce North American tour for ‘Push the Sky Away’ (http://www.slicingupeyeballs.com/2012/12/03/nick-cave-bad-seeds-north-american-tour-dates/)
Stream: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, ‘We No Who U R’ — plus Australian tour dates (http://www.slicingupeyeballs.com/2012/12/02/nick-cave-bad-seeds-we-no-who-u-r/)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds to release new album ‘Push the Sky Away’ in February (http://www.slicingupeyeballs.com/2012/11/27/nick-cave-bad-seeds-push-sky-away/)

http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?d=yIl2AUoC8zA (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:yIl2AU oC8zA) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?i=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:D7DqB2 pKExk (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:D7DqB2 pKExk) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?d=7Q72WNTAKBA (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:7Q72WN TAKBA) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?i=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:V_sGLi PBpWU (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:V_sGLi PBpWU) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?d=qj6IDK7rITs (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:qj6IDK 7rITs) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?d=l6gmwiTKsz0 (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:l6gmwi TKsz0) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?i=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:gIN9vF wOqvQ (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:gIN9vF wOqvQ) http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?d=TzevzKxY174 (http://feeds.feedburner.com/~ff/SlicingUpEyeballs?a=9EN16WlnCDQ:gjOEc_iIOqc:TzevzK xY174)

More... (http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/SlicingUpEyeballs/~3/9EN16WlnCDQ/)